Matt Prior, a wicket-keeper in England, had faith that Joe Root’s Ashes group has a befitting class of bowlers who mastered the tricks that gave them a historic win overseas Ashes campaign in 2010- 2011. A good result can only happen if the England team is competitive enough to make enough runs throughout the five-Test series.

In the successful 2010-2011, Matt Prior managed 252 runs at 50.40 from the pivot No. 7. This achievement came with a century in the final series in Sydney, and he got 23 catches behind the stumps all through the five tests. He was also the incumbent of England some years later in the 2013-14 whitewash, when the mighty bowlers of Australia, led by Mitchell Johnson, destroyed a long-awaited English line-up.

long-awaited English line-up

And so, while he was optimistic of the class of James Anderson and Stuart Broad, who would perform their fifth and fourth Ashes tours, respectively, he also trusted Ollie Robinson as another potential pick in the seam department after a fruitful debut summer. It was also unclear whether the England team cannot overly rely on Joe Root for consistent runs, even though he is among the world-beating run of form.

Did you know that many online sports bookmakers rely on players from the Arab Emirates? Cricket online betting in UAE is a huge phenomenon; learn how you can make money through cricket betting on Mightytips. The inhabitants of this country like to bet on sports.

When Was The Last Time England Won In Australia?

Andrew Strauss led the England team to a 3-1 series victory in Australia during the 2010/2011 ash series. It was the 1st victory in the past 24 years that England had emerged top on the field away from home. 2019 became the most recent incident when a visiting team emerged top in the Ashes Series. Alistair Cook scored 766 runs in the 5 test matches and became the top player of the series.

After getting 570 runs named after him in the series, Mike Hussey became the top run-scorer in Australia. James Anderson acquired an award for getting the most wickets, getting 24 in the entire series, while the highest wicket-taker in Australia was Mitchell Johnson with a total of 15.

The 1st test result became a draw, getting 235 runs from Alistar cook in the 2nd innings. England then beat Australia in the 2nd test by 71 runs and an innings. Kevin Peterson became the top scorer in England by getting 227 runs of the total 620 innings. On the other hand, Graeme Swann and Anderson took nine wickets through the match. Michael Hussey’s century and Johnson’s 62 runs secured Australia’s only win of the series in the 3rd test before England regained their glory once again and took control.

Chris Tremlett, the fast bowler, took 4 wickets for 26, closing the first innings in Australia in 98 runs. This victory came before Jonathan Trott scored 168 runs, adding up England’s totals to 513. Matt Prior, Ian Bell, and Alistair Cook scored centuries in the 5th and final, bringing England’s total winnings to 644 on bowling on ESPN. Anderson’s seven wickets in the test gave England a win by an innings and 83 runs.

How Many Times Has England Team Won In Australia?

England has defeated Australia 14 times, making a 200-year history. Previous to 2010/2011, England came top in Australia’s 1986/87 Ashes series. The series witnessed a 2-1 victory, with the last two matches being drawn. Mike Gatting was the captain of the England team at that time which was consisted of other cricketing heroes like:

  • David Gower
  • Chris Broad
  • Ian Botham

How Many Times Has England Won in Australia

Thanks to a 100 from the rising legend Ian Botham and a 76 from Bill Athey, England managed to win a seven-time victory. Three subsequent tests saw Chris Broad, the opening batter, Score 3 consecutive hundreds, the third among these were scheduled to take place in five days, but England defeated Aussies in only three with an innings and 14 runs.

Despite Gower scoring 72 runs in the 1st innings and Gatting scoring 96 runs in the 2nd, Australia came top of the test with 55 runs, thanks to a 100 from Dean Jones and Peter Taylor getting six for 78. After succeeding in this test series, England started losing as the Aussies improved, thus dominating the series until 2005 when Michael Vaughan’s squad finally won back the Urn in 19 years in England for the first time.

Why Tymal Mills Is The Bowler England Need

Usually, no fast bowler in the globe concedes fewer runs in the crucial last stages of an innings more than Tymal Mills, whose Brave Southern side plays in the coming eliminator. He has a 7.47 economy in the ‘death overs’, better than India’s Jasprit Bumrah and Australia’s Mitchell Starc.

Mills was found to have a congenital back condition in 2015, which kept him from playing many games for England. When fit, he traveled to play in T20 leagues in Australia, India, Bangladesh, and Pakistan while impressing for Sussex and even working as a television pundit and working for BBC radio.

An international recall would not just come out of the blues. Earlier this year, Eoin Morgan, England skipper, publicly mentioned Mills as a bowler who could forcefully make their way into bowling senior pictures.

Why Tymal Mills Is the Bowler England Need

The Expectations

The performance rating of the team and the players mentioned here gives room for optimism around England’s perspective in the World Cup as well in other areas of concern. The batting unit is unique and has an extraordinary depth compared to other contenders. Historically, the team’s batting is similar to other World Cup-winning teams and can dominate their opponents.

The 29 old Mills managed to do that with the second-best death economy a pace bowler can manage in the group stage after the New Zealander from Birmingham Phoenix Adam Milne. He bowled many impressive spells; none of them was more than that one against London Spirit when he and Chris Jordan made a win despite the Spirit needing 12 balls from the remaining ten balls. Bailey Archer is also expected to be available for England.


Over the past four years, England Cricket performance has been remarkable with their bravery and excitement. With the advantage of playing at home, the new England Bowlers Association places them in a better position to win the World Cup. This England team is different, and there are high expectations that they will replicate the 2010/2011 performance. Get more exciting sports news through this link.

You May Also Like