Table of Contents
Living in a state where no-fault accident laws exist means there’s less of a battle over who caused the accident and less trouble having to fight with your insurance. There are absolutely some fallbacks, though- including the fact that in a no-fault law state, if you get hit by someone else, it might raise your insurance rates despite the accident not being your fault. Here are some tips on how the no-fault accident laws work and what you should know to ensure you’re adequately insured.
Check How Do No-Fault Accident Laws Work?
Who Do I Submit My Claim To?
If you’re injured in a no-fault state, even though it wasn’t your fault, you’ll have to submit your claim to your insurance. This solution is more straightforward than insurance issues in other states, where you have to contact the other person’s insurance and hope that you’ll hear back from them. These states allow liability insurance, which is far cheaper than regular insurance, but it does have a drawback. If you get hit and only have liability insurance, it does not protect your car, and you’ll have to pay out of pocket.
What If I Get Hurt?
Part of how these no-fault states work this program is through PIP coverage, which will help you pay for your injuries and cover any harm that comes to you based on what plan you bought. Although this does mess with your premiums, it’s better than paying out of pocket and shorter than having to go to court or find a personal injury lawyer in Kingston, PA. Luckily, on your behalf, if you cause the accident and the other person gets hurt, you’re protected from a personal injury lawsuit as long as it wasn’t intentional. This idea saves a lot of time and money for everyone involved.
What States Allow It?
There are currently twelve no-fault states, including Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Hawaii, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, and Utah, with Puerto Rico also having no-fault laws despite being a territory and not a state. These states make you get insurance based on liability, ranging from as low as $3,000 in Puerto Rico up to a minimum of $50,000 in Michigan. Each state has its laws and rules regarding these accidents, so it’s best to study up on your specific area.
Is It Better Or Worse Than Regular Accident Laws?
There’s no way to quantify which option is absolutely better or positively worse, but it is essential to keep in mind your specific needs. If you want to save money and don’t want to be in charge of other people’s injuries, it’s better off for you. On the other hand, if you don’t want to risk having to see your insurance payments go up because someone else hit your car, this could be a stressful type of law to live under. This law shouldn’t be why you decide to live somewhere, but it is essential to know if you’re from the areas affected.